Logo Premios OMT OMT Awards

14th UNWTO Awards in FITUR

Organized by


14th UNWTO Awards Forum
Date: 15 January 2018 (Monday)
Venue: Paraninfo, Universidad Complutense de Madrid Calle de San Bernardo, 49, 28015 Madrid, Spain

14th UNWTO Awards Ceremony & Gala Cocktail Dinner
Dates: 17 January 2018 (Wednesday)
Venue: IFEMA, Madrid, Spain


Ms. Eun Ji Tae - Technical coordinator
Knowledge Network
Affiliate Members Programme
World Tourism Organization
Capitán Haya, 42
28020 Madrid (Spain)
Tel.: (34) 91 567 81 70
Fax.: (34) 91 571 37 33


Foto 1The UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in tourism is the flagship event for the global tourism sector.

This event, which takes places with FITUR, seeks to highlight the work of organizations and individuals around the world that have positively impacted and inspired the tourism sector through innovation and knowledge.

Applying as a sponsor is the perfect opportunity to get associated to the United Nations.

Foto 2Innovation and competivity will be the introduction of the brand. This will let them to get on well with companies and world-renowned organisations.
The application deadline finishes on November, 30th. In case of not applying in time, the inscriptions will be for the next UNWTO Awards edition (14th)

More information here.


Foto 3To date, UNWTO has acknowledged and awarded the contribution of distinguished scholars, inspiring leaders, as well as more than sixty initiatives from the public and private sector as well as NGOs. Their achievements have served as an inspiration for competitive and sustainable tourism development at a local, national, regional and international level.

The contributions of the awardees are in lined with the policies, priorities and Programme of Work of UNWTO, including the Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the principles and standards set in the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals.

  • The UNWTO Lifetime Achievement Award is conferred to recognize a lifetime achievement of individuals with visionary leadership and significant contribution throughout the nominee’s career as an inspirational role model for the development at the local, national, regional or international level. The selection of the UNWTO Lifetime Achievement Award will be reserved to the international Jury of Experts of the UNWTO Awards in recognition of the global significance of this category. No external nominations or applications for this award category shall be accepted.
  • The UNWTO Ulysses Prize is given to a distinguished scholar, whether in academia, government or private industry, for outstanding contributions to innovation and knowledge in tourism.
  • The UNWTO Awards for Innovation merit distinction in four categories for the significant contribution of innovative tourism initiatives which are both competitive and sustainable in their character.
    • UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance
    • UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises
    • UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations
    • UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology
  • The UNWTO Ethics Awards, a newly created category, is conferred by the World Committee on Tourism Ethics to tourism companies and trade associations that have demonstrated excellence in the implementation of the principles of the Global Code of Ethics of Tourism within their business operations and Corporate Social Responsibility practices.

More information HERE