ARCOmadrid 2023 Awards

ARCOmadrid encourages corporate sponsorship

ARCOmadrid maintains its commitment to collecting, the promotion of artists and the desire to foster contacts that will boost purchases at the Fair. On the occasion of ARCO, national and international private companies are joining in the initiatives to promote acquisitions and the recognition of artistic creation through the awarding of different prizes. Some are aimed at the production of works that can later be seen at the Fair; others will reward some of the works exhibited by the galleries at ARCOmadrid. And all of them recognise and promote artistic creation, sometimes linked to aspects that are identified with the brands that promote them.

The participation of Lexus as the official vehicles and mobility solutions provider at ARCOmadrid 2023, forms part of the brand’s actions to support contemporary art and creation.

For the third year running, Lexus will participate as patron of the Lexus Award for the Best Stand at ARCOmadrid 2023, to be selected by a jury made up of Estrella de Diego, writer and lecturer, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, and Cuauhtémoc Medina, Chief Curator of MUAC, Mexico City.

The Cervezas Alhambra Award for Emerging Art is celebrating its seventh edition at ARCOmadrid 2023. An award that brings together the best emerging artists on the national scene. The initiative seeks to highlight those previously unpublished works that express the brand spirit through an artisan production process reinterpreted in a contemporary key with La Alhambra and Granada as inspiration.

On this edition, Pablo Capitán del Río, Irene Grau, Cristina Garrido, Almudena Lobera and Alberto Odériz are the five finalists whose works will be exhibited in the Cervezas Alhambra space at ARCOmadrid 2023. This selection was made by Alicia Ventura; curator of the award; Iñaki Martínez, independent curator; Beatriz Herráez, director of Artium; Marta Rincón, Visual Arts, Architecture and Design manager; and Álvaro Trujillo, Brand Manager Territory of Cervezas Alhambra.

The jury of professionals from the sector will select the award winner over the course of the fair.

illycaffè reaffirms its commitment to contemporary art promotion, particularly among the international community of emerging artists, with its XVI illy SustainArt Award. Once again, illycaffé will distinguish the work of young artists, and on this occasion will reward a creator under the age of 40. The winner will receive 15,000 euros to develop a work of art to be exhibited at the illycaffé stand on the subsequent edition of the fair.

The work will be chosen by a jury made up of Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, collector – Fondaziones Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Tania Pardo, deputy director of Museo CA2M and Visual Arts Adviser for the Comunidad de Mardid, Ianko López, cultural journalist and Carlo Bach, art director of illycaffé.

The ARCO/BEEP Award for Electronic Art, granted by .NewArt { collection;}, celebrates its eighteenth edition at ARCOmadrid 2023. This award, that seeks to promote the production and exhibition of art linked to the new technologies or electronic art, will reward one of the works exhibited at the Fair.

The winner will be chosen over the course of ARCOmadrid by a jury composed of Marie-France Veyrat, Roberta Bosco, Fernando Castro Flórez and Vicente Matallana. Endowed with 15,000 euros, its aim is to foster artistic creation related to technology, promoting communication between technology manufacturers and creators and the creating artists, thus stimulating collection of these new artistic expressions.

For the ninth year, ARCOmadrid grants the Opening Award by Allianz, to distinguish the best stand in this section. A jury will select the best space from among the participating galleries in Opening by Allianz. The winner will be reimbursed the cost of their stand at the Fair.

Six Senses and ARCOmadrid organise the first award for the artist who best reflects sustainability and environmental responsibility concerns.

A jury specialised in research into creation and sustainability will select the winner. The award is endowed with 10000 euros to reward their exploration of the issue.

For the first time, Colección SOLO will grant an acquisition award to distinguish the work of a participating artist in ARCOmadrid 2023. The piece will be exhibited in a group show in Espacio SOLO, in Madrid.

Catalina D’Anglade, the designer, will award an artist at ARCOmadrid 2023. On the last editions, the works of the following Spanish artists were distinguished: June Crespo, Luis Gordillo, Secundino Hernández and Daniel Steegmann Mangrané.